Conversations are collections of related messages exchanged between two or more NexJ CRM users.
You can add context to a conversation by associating it with a specific contact, company, household, or opportunity that you want to discuss. Afterwards the conversation history is visible in the Conversations tab for the associated contact, company, household, or opportunity and any replies to a message appear in those places as well. If you make a conversation private, only the conversation participants can view it the Conversations tab.
You can also create a conversation without any context that is just between you and another user as a chat.
When someone starts a new conversation with you or sends a message in a conversation in which you are participating, you receive an email or a pop-up notification, depending on how you configure your conversation alert preferences.
Viewing conversations
You can view all of your conversations, whether you are the sender or receiver, in the Conversations sidebar. To open the Conversations sidebar, click the Conversations button
Conversations display in the Conversations sidebar according to their latest messages; the conversation with the most recent message is displayed at the top. To view older conversations, scroll down.
If there are more than three messages in a single conversation, only the three most recent messages are displayed. To expand the conversation and reveal older messages, click the More button. For longer conversations, continue clicking the More button until all the messages in the conversation are displayed. To collapse the conversation to its previous state, click the Less button. Expanding the conversation does not mark it as read.
For example, the following screenshot shows a single conversation that has four messages but only three of the messages are displayed. To display all of the messages, the More button must be clicked.
The following screenshot shows the same conversation after the More button has been clicked:
Starting conversations
To start a new conversation:
-
In the Conversations sidebar, click the Add button
at the top of the sidebar and fill in the required information.
-
In a contact's, company's, household's, or opportunity's Conversations tab, navigate to a specific contact, company, household, or opportunity and in the Conversations tab, click the Add button.
Starting a new conversation from a contact's, company's, household's, or opportunity's Conversations tab automatically sets the context of the conversation in the About field.
The New Conversation dialog includes the following fields:
|
Field or checkbox |
Description |
Required field |
|---|---|---|
|
About |
Associates a conversation with a contact, a company, a household, or an opportunity and makes it visible in the corresponding Conversations tab. The name of the associated contact, company, household, or opportunity displays below the participant names on the conversation message. If private view and edit security is specified for the associated contact, company, household, or opportunity, only the participant with view and edit security can see the name.
To associate a conversation with a contact, a company, a household, or an opportunity, select an option from the About drop-down, then click Select to choose a specific contact, company, household, or opportunity to discuss. |
No |
|
Message |
To send your message, you must enter text in the Message field. |
Yes |
|
Private to Participants |
Makes a conversation visible only to conversation participants, when the Private to Participants checkbox is selected. If you associate a conversation with a contact, a company, household, or an opportunity and mark it as private, only the participants can see it in a corresponding Conversation tab. If you are added as a participant to an existing private conversation, you can only see messages that are sent after you join the conversation.
|
No |
|
With |
Allows you to select one or more participants for your conversation. To add participants, search for other users by typing in their last name or click the Select button |
Yes |
Replying to conversations
Only participants can reply to messages in a conversation. You can reply to a conversation in the Conversations sidebar or from the Conversations tab for an associated contact, company, household, or opportunity, by entering text in the Send a message field and clicking Reply.
Replying to a conversation marks it as read, sends your message to all the participants in the conversation, and sends a notification to each participant.
Marking conversations as read
When you reply to a conversation it is automatically marked as read. To mark all unread messages within a conversation as read without replying to any of them, click the Mark as Read button
If you have a lot of conversations that you are not replying to and you want to mark them all as read instead of marking them individually, click the More Actions button
Conversations that you do not reply to, or do not mark as read, will continue to be counted by the Conversations button in the toolbar, for example
Filtering conversations
You can filter conversations to show only conversations with a selected participant. In the Search conversations with field at the top of the Conversations sidebar, search for a participant by last name or click the Select button
Refreshing conversations
You can refresh the Conversations sidebar to display new messages at any time by clicking the Refresh button
When you refresh the sidebar, all expanded conversations collapse to display only the three most recent messages. If you apply a filter to the Conversations sidebar, refreshing it does not clear the filter.
Inviting participants to conversations
You can invite additional participants to an existing conversation even if you did not start the conversation. Newly invited participants cannot see messages that were sent before they joined the conversation, but they are able to view and reply to new messages in the conversation.
To invite a new participant, click the Invite button
When new participants join the conversation, all current participants are sent a conversation notification.
Leaving conversations
Leave a conversation to keep your copy of the conversation history but stop receiving new messages by clicking the Leave button
Deleting conversations
Delete a conversation to remove only your copy of the conversation history from your Conversations sidebar by clicking the Delete button
Managing conversation alerts
You can configure your conversation alert preferences to receive email notifications or pop-up notifications when you receive new messages or conversations.
To manage your alerts, click the More Actions button